beagleParts are finally arriving (because I finally ordered them) to get my Beagle Board up and running.

For those who don’t know, the Beagle Board is a 3-inch-square reference board based on a Texas Instruments ARM OMAP 3530.  The best part is that it is very inexpensive for a reference board (about $150), although it does require a few extra cables and such to do anything useful with it.  Of course it runs Linux (including Ubuntu, Android, MontaVista’s Mobilinux, Angstrom, Debian, and a host of other distros).  I’ll post my progress here and on Meld.

I am doing this partly because it takes me back to my propeller-headed roots to play with raw hardware, and partly because I will be giving a demonstration of MontaVista’s mobile internet device (MID) distribution at the upcoming Embedded Linux Conference in April, using the Beagle Board as the reference platform.